Devione Edwards wins title; St. Paul Flyers take second at Lorain Nationwide Holiday Classic

MORNING JOURNAL/SAM GREENE Jake Paul of Westlake and Drew Schatz of Midview grapple in the 132-pound match for third place during the Lorain Nationwide Holiday Classic at Lorain High School on Saturday.

MORNING JOURNAL/SAM GREENE Jefferson Area's Ricker Maple gets a head lock on St. Paul's Jesse Gross in the 138-pound match for first place during the Lorain Nationwide Holiday Classic at Lorain High School on Saturday. Maple won the match.

MORNING JOURNAL/SAM GREENE St. Paul's Jesse Gross attempts and escape from Jefferson Area's Ricker Maple in the 138-pound match for first place during the Lorain Nationwide Holiday Classic at Lorain High School on Saturday. Maple won the match.

MORNING JOURNAL/SAM GREENE Worthington Kilbourne's Kyle Wahl celebrates after defeating Lorain's Eli Garcia for first place in the 145-pound weight class during the Lorain Nationwide Holiday Classic at Lorain High School on Saturday.

LORAIN — Devione Edwards may be a freshman, but he wrestled beyond his years for the Lorain Titans.

Edwards claimed the 106 championship pinning Bay’s Vince Zitiello for the Titans only championship of the night, as Lorain placed fifth with 164.5 points in the 2012 Lorain Nationwide Holiday Classic Saturday. Beaver Local won the tournament with 243.5 points, while St. Paul (225.5) had its best showing since joining the tournament with a second place finish.

Edwards, who was undefeated during pool wrestling, scored pins en route to the finals. He scored and early takedown and back points to take the lead. Zitiello avoided the pin fall on a couple of occasions, but was finally pinned at 1:10.

Having wrestled at nationals the past couple of years helped Edwards come out and have such an outstanding performance.

“I was a little nervous when the tournament started,” Edwards said. “The experienced I have gotten helped me settle in. When I got to the championship match, I was focused and ready. It feels good to get a championship. Now I’ll work even harder in practice to try and get first all the time.”

Senior Eli Garcia (145) controlled the first two periods and appeared well on his way on giving Lorain two champions. After scoring back points for a 16-4 lead, the win seemed to be within his grasp. However, Worthington Kilbourne’s Kyle Wahl reversed Garcia and stunned the home crowd with a pin at 4:51.

The young Flyers had an outstanding tournament, placing five in the championship finals. They entered the final session just a half point behind Beaver Local. However, the Flyers ran into some very tough matches in the finals and couldn’t get any closer.

In their first matchup, Joshua Henderston (113) used a combination half-nelson and chicken wing to pin St. Paul’s Joe Livengood at 1:35. Adam Tepper (120) of Bay scored an 8-2 decision over Grant Dilger. Perhaps the toughest match of the night for St. Paul came at 126 with Joey Baitt of Jefferson Area scoring a takedown with 12 seconds left in the third period for a 5-3 decision over Wes Fritz.

Jesse Gross (138) lost an 8-2 decision to Jefferson Area’s Ricker Maple, while Ben Jenkins lost 7-1 to Alex Meehan of Worthington Kilbourne.

“I am pleased with them,” St. Paul coach Pat Welfle said. “The kids wrestled hard. They made some mistakes, but hopefully we can learn from them. We have a nice group of sophomores and three of them were in the (championship) finals.

“This tournament is set up for a team like us. We were able to get a lot of kids matches. This is the toughest tournament we have had so far this season and will help us down the road.”

Westlake had three in the finals and came away with a pair of champions. Senior Logan Paul (170) picked up where he left off from last season. The state qualifier pinned and scored a major decision en route to the finals. He scored an 11-4 win over Rocky Tripodi of Jefferson Area to claim the championship and remain unbeaten.

The second championship was a tad more heart-stopping with senior Nader Shouman (182), scoring a takedown and back points with a headlock-ankle chip combination takedown with 12 seconds left in regulation. He held on for a 7-6 win over Blake Perry.

“It was a good third period,” Shouman said. “I was down, and tried something crazy and it worked. It wasn’t a safe move, but I needed to do something. I finished fourth here last year and to finish first is a good feeling.”

Asam Zayed (190) reached the finals, but was pinned by Kirtland’s Evan Brettrager of Kirltand.

Bay finished in fourth place with 169 points. Tepper won the championship at 120, while Zitiello (106) and Joe Kubinski (152) each finished second.

Clearview’s Michael Hollingsworth (132) battle valiantly, but lost to Ron Foster of Beaver Local to place second. The Clippers placed tenth with 88 points.

Lorain Holiday Tournament

Team Results

1. Beaver Local 243.5, 2. St. Paul 225.5, 3. Westlake 186.5, 4. Bay 169, 5. Lorain 164.5, 6.Worthington Kilbourne 149.5, 7. Jefferson Area 133, 8. Copley 128, 9. Twinsburg 124, 10. Clearview 88, 11. Kirtland 85, 12. Midview75, 13. Holy Name 58. 14. Avon Lake 51, 15. Lakewood 39.

Championship Finals

106 — Devione Edwards (L) pinned Vince Zitello (BV), 1:10; Third — Austin Oberly (WK) dec. Tanmay Shah (CO), 4-2; 113 — Joshua Henderston (BL) pinned Joe Livengood (SP), 1:35; Third — Ben Tepper (BV) dec. Markus Cruz (L), 3-0; 120 — Adam Tepper (BV) dec.Grant Dilger (SP), 8-2 ; Third — Tyler Silverthron (W) pinned Dustin Martsolf (BL), 3-41; 126 — Joey Baitt (BL) dec. Wes Fritz (SP), 5-3; Third — Joey Bernosky (AL) dec. Nick Foster (HN), 5-4 ; 132 — Ron Foster (BL) dec. Michael Hollingsworth (CL), 8-5; Third — Jake Paul (W) dec. Drew Schatz (MV), 5-4; 138 — Ricker Maple (JA) dec. Jesse Gross (SP), 8-2; Third — Clayton Davidson (K) dec. Daniel Hasson (BL), 8-2; 145 — Kyle Wahl (WK) pinned Eli Garcia (L), 4:51; Third — Jimmy Hiller (T) decc. Brad Powell (CO), 6-4 OT; 152 — Tyrone McGuinea (T)/Joe Kubinski (BV); Third — Derrick Foster (CL) maj. dec. Blake Benyard (L), 10-0; 160 — Alex Keller (T) pinned Morley Marsden (BL), 5:44; Third – Hayden Miller (SP) pinned Zach Collins (JA), :54; 170 — Logan Paul (W) dec. Rocky Tripodi (JA), 11-4; Third — Luther Washington (L) dec. Daniel Lattanzio (BL), 4-3; 182 — Nader Shouman (W) decc. Blake Perry (JA), 7-6; Third — Cody Wright (BV) maj. dec. Josh Jenkins (WK), 11-2; 195 — Evan Brettrager (K) pinned Asam Zayed (W), 3:05; Third — Alex Veltre (HN) dec. Matt Spies (BV), 7-6; 220 — Alex Meehan (WK) dec. Ben Jenkins (SP), 7-1; Third — Austin Lewarchick (CO) pinned Emanuel Lewis (LW), 2:38; 285 — Cody Martsoff (BL) dec.Chris Burke (CO), 8-4; Third — Ismael Shafei (W) won via forfeit.


Last Updated: 12/29/2012 11:38:20 PM EST

From the Bleachers

See All